Research Excellence Framework: BAM nominees appointed to Business and Management Subpanel

HEFCE have announced the membership of the REF panels, which are charged with defining the criteria of assessment for submissions to REF and ultimately assessing researchers’ submissions.

The British Academy of Management took part in the open nominations process whereby subject associations and other organizations with an interest in research conducted by UK higher education institutions were invited to nominate candidates. BAM nominated a number of researchers and we are delighted to see that they make up such a large proportion for the subpanel (14 out of 22), making a significant contribution to the assessment process.

Professor Mike Pidd (Lancaster University), a BAM Fellow and Council member, was announced as the Chair of the Business and Management subpanel earlier this year. Mike and the rest of the subpanel will now work with REF during 2011 to develop the criteria for the assessment in 2014.

The role of a sub-panel is:

  • to consult on and contribute to the criteria and working methods of the group of sub-panels within a main panel, and develop any necessary criteria and working methods specific to the individual sub-panel, for approval by the main panel
  • to work within the agreed criteria and methods, and under the guidance of the main panel, to assess submissions
  • to advise the main panel and REF team on cross-referrals to other sub-panels of submitted material and any need for additional expertise required to assess submissions
  • to produce draft assessment outcomes for each submission to be recommended for sign off by the main panel, and associated concise feedback for submissions.


Sub-panel 19: Business and Management Studies

Chair: Professor Michael Pidd, Lancaster University


Professor John Arnold Loughborough University
Professor Jan Bebbington University of St Andrews
Professor David Blackaby Swansea University
Professor Robert Blackburn Kingston University
Professor Jane Broadbent Roehampton University
Professor Chris Brooks University of Reading
Professor Colin University of Strathclyde
Professor Paul Edwards University of Warwick
Professor Guy Fitzgerald Brunel University
Professor Keith Glaister University of Sheffield
Professor Mark Jenkins Cranfield University
Professor Martin Laffin Durham University
Professor Kathrin Moeslein University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Professor Peter Naude University of Manchester
Professor Andy Neely University of Cambridge
Ms Caroline Oades Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
Professor Richard Thorpe University of Leeds
Professor Ian Tonks University of Bath
Professor Caroline Tynan University of Nottingham
Professor Terry Williams University of Southampton
Professor Hugh Willmott Cardiff University


Panel Secretary: Mrs Emma Calverley, University of Hull

Author Name: