Two BAM Fellows Awarded OBE's in New Year's Honour List

We are delighted to confirm that BAM Fellows, Professor Marie McHugh and Professor Andy Neely have been awarded OBE's [Order of the British Empire] in the New Year's Honour List for services to Higher Education and Business Development and Research and University/Industry Collaboration respectively. Professor McHugh and Professor Neely wil receive their prestigious awards later this year at an official ceremony at Buckingham Palace. 

Professor Marie McHugh OBE


Professor Marie McHugh is Professor of Organisational Behaviour & Former Dean of Ulster University Business School has been awarded an OBE for services to Higher Education & Business Development. Under her leadership the Business School has played a central role in developing and promoting an extensive range of programmes aimed directly at supporting Northern Ireland's economic development. A former President and Chair of the British Academy of Management (BAM), Marie was awarded a BAM Fellowship in 2013, the only Fellowship to be awarded in NI, in recognition of her leadership.

Professor Andy Neely OBE


Andy is Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Enterprise and Business Relations at the University of Cambridge, where he leads the University's strategy to enhance and develop its engagements and partnerships with industry and commerce, and the wider enterprise economy in the East Andlian region.

He is the former Head of the Institute for Manufacturing (IfM). Andy is also the Director of the Centre for Digital Built Britain and Founding Director of the Cambridge Service Alliance

Andy is widely recognised for his work on the servitization of manufacturing, as well as his work on performance measurement and management. He was Deputy Director of AIM Research – the UK’s management research initiative – from 2003 until 2012 and was elected a Fellow of the Sunningdale Institute in 2005, a Fellow of the British Academy of Management in 2007, a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in 2008, a Fellow of the European Operations Management Association in 2009 and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2018.