21 Feb 2023

Call for Applications for the BAM Education Practice Awards Competition 2023

We are pleased to confirm the Call for Applications for the British Academy of Management (BAM) Education Practice Awards Competition is now open!

The Competition consists of two categories; 1) the main award which attracts applications from more experienced management education practitioners, and 2) the early career teaching practitioner award. 


We welcome accounts of inspiring and impactful management education practice that are informed by reflection on context and theories of learning and pedagogical development. Most importantly, we are keen to support the sharing of that practice amongst the BAM community and create a critical mass of significant and imaginative practice. Given the current situation, there is an opportunity for us to learn from one another’s practice in the design and delivery of modules and courses in virtual environments. We welcome applications based on any initiative that you feel meets the requirements of this award, in particular those that involve the virtual environment due its high relevance at present and in the medium term. We encourage applicants to use the ‘Practical Guidance’ part in ‘Section B: Account of the Initiative’ as a way to share best practices with colleagues.


The Experienced Education Practice Award is the main category and is now in its 7th year. The education initiative may be designed and delivered by an individual or team. The focus of this category is on whole initiatives e.g. whole module delivery, programme coordination, or policy development.

All applicants must be members of the British Academy of Management. Applicants of the award must have more than 3 years’ experience in a full time, permanent role. Applicants can be teaching at any level or type of programmes including undergraduate, postgraduate or executive education, and may be involved in management education in a variety of ways (such as module delivery, programme coordination, or policy development). Previous recipients of the award may not apply.


The Early Career Education Practice Award is now in its 8th year. We believe that an award for our new colleagues in the teaching profession is important as it recognises the unique challenges that they face as new scholars and that their experiences are also valuable and should be shared with others. Applications are only for individuals. The focus is on initiatives that the applicant has meaningful control over, has responsibility for, and may be a subset of a broader initiative e.g. formative assessment of a particular topic within a module.

All applicants must be members of the British Academy of Management with no more than three years as a full time permanent faculty member. Applicants can be teaching at any level or type of programmes including undergraduate, postgraduate or executive education. 


The evaluation for both categories are identical. The judges will apply the criteria within the context of the applicant’s category.

  • Clear statement of aims and key features of the initiative.
  • Insightful analysis of the context in which the initiative is located. This will include a critical evaluation of the issue being addressed by the initiative, and the influence of the subtleties of the broader situation. This might include specific disciplinary traditions, local institutional ethos and practice expectations, national educational trends, and other relevant issues.
  • Comprehensive theoretical rationale for the initiative that draws on relevant literature. Practice will be linked with sophisticated reflection on theoretical conceptions of knowledge and knowing, learning or pedagogy.
  • Robust explanation of how the approach goes beyond ‘merely good’ in its impact, in ways that is either innovative (adopts a creative or imaginative approach that is distinct from that adopted elsewhere) or excellent (displays sustained impact in inspiring/enhancing learner achievement).
  • Detailed reflection on how the intervention has enabled management knowledge or educational theory to be developed.
  • Recognition of equality and diversity.


There are two forms with the following filenames: ‘Category 1 – Experienced Education Practice Award 2023’ and ‘Category 2 – Early Career Education Practice Award 2023’ (the links to the forms are below). Each form has two sections; A and B. Applicants for either category should complete both sections A and B. One award will be made for each category. The names of all those applying will be held confidentially. Potential conflicts of interest between applicants and panel members will be disclosed. Panel members will abstain from the evaluation of any applicant for whom they have potential conflicts of interest.

A shortlist of applicants will be drawn up by means of an anonymous peer review process. A panel including Business and Management School Deans will evaluate the final shortlist. We see this as the first step in disseminating good practice.

The prize winners will receive a trophy and public conferment of the award during the BAM annual conference. Winners will be invited to disseminate their practice by hosting a capacity building event and posting material related to the initiative on the BAM website which is available to a network of 2,000 international BAM members. There will also be support to develop the work for publication.


  • Submission deadline - Thursday 22nd June (23:59 BST)
  • Shortlist of finalists drawn up - From Monday 26th June 
  • Shortlisted candidates evaluated by Deans’ panel - From Monday 3rd July
  • Winner notified - Monday 7th August 
  • Winner presentation at the BAM Conference - Tuesday 5th September 
  • Winner biography and description of learning initiative made available on the BAM Website - End of September 2023
  • Winner leads a MKE capacity building event to disseminate practice - 2023/24 Academic Year

Download the Category 1 Experienced Education Practice Award Form

Download the Category 2 Early Career Education Practice Award Form

To submit your application, please complete the forms and send to Lewis Johnson at [email protected] by 23:59 BST on Thursday 22nd June 2022.