24 Sep 2020

Winners Announced at the Virtual Awards Ceremony at BAM Conference in The Cloud

During our Conference in the Cloud this year, we were delighted to recognise people both within our community and beyond it for their contribution to Management scholarship and to the British Academy of Management.

  1. Fellows of the British Academy of Management

Our College of Fellows exists to recognise academics who have a strong international profile of high-quality research and who have made a significant contribution to the well-being of BAM and plays an important role supporting our core mission. We welcomed three new BAM Fellows this year:

(Professor Lisa Anderson)

Lisa Anderson is Professor of Management Development at the University of Liverpool Management School and our Co-Vice Chair for Management Knowledge and Education (MKE). She has been elected as BAM Fellow for her strong contribution to Learning and Management Development and an excellent contribution to BAM.

(Professor Bill Cooke)

Bill Cooke is Chaired Professor in Strategic Management at the University of York and was previously Vice Chair for Research and Publications. He has been elected as a BAM Fellow for his strong contribution to Business History and Strategic Management and an excellent contribution to BAM.  

(Professor Katy Mason)

Katy Mason is Professor of Markets and Management at Lancaster University Management School and current Chair of the British Academy of Management, having previously served as Vice Chair for MKE. She has been elected as a BAM Fellow for her strong contribution to Market Models and Management and an excellent contribution to BAM.

Companions of the British Academy of Management

Companionships of the British Academy of Management are made by invitation to recognise outstanding contributions to the field of Management and are a way in which our community honours those who have provided leadership in management practice or thought, or development of the field and its diverse community. In 2020 we are delighted to welcome five new Companions.

Andrew Hawkins is Senior Director of Local & Regional Government at Microsoft (Europe, Middle East and Africa). He is made Companion of BAM for his extensive and long-term work with business and management students.

Dr Joe MacDonagh
is Lecturer in the School of Business and Humanities at the Technological University Dublin. He is made Companion of BAM for his work whilst Chair of the Irish Academy of Management initiating the enormously positive and productive relationship with BAM. 

Professor Robert MacIntosh is Head of the School of Management and Languages at Heriot Watt University and an elected member of BAM Council. He is made Companion of BAM in recognition of his outstanding research and leadership in the field and for his role as Chair of the Chartered Association of Business Schools.


Professor Sue Rigby
is Vice Chancellor of Bath Spa University and is made Companion of BAM for her work supporting our Education Focused Professor Project and teaching & learning careers in higher education. 


Dr Melanie Knetsch
is Deputy Director of Impact and Innovation at the Economic and Social Research Council. She is nominated for her work supporting business and management research within ESRC and her insightful contributions to BAM.

Education Practice Awards

The BAM Management Education Practice Awards are two competitive awards presented to early career and experienced practitioners, reflecting the value we place on excellence in education practice. Entries are judged by a panel of Deans and the competition is overseen by the MKE Sub Committee.


(Dr Inge Hill) 

The Winner of the Experienced Teaching Practitioner Category is Dr Inge Hill of the Royal Agricultural University for a programme entitled ‘Pop up shops for increasing employability – enterprise for all through learning via doing’.


(Dr Paul Joseph-Richard)

The Winner of the Early Career Teaching Practitioner Category is Dr Paul Joseph-Richard of Ulster University for a project entitled ‘A person-centred approach to supporting placement-seeking HRM students in Northern Ireland’.


Four other projects were Highly Commended by the judges. These were:

A programme entitled Developing the ‘Research Conference’: An intensive learning experience to bring undergraduate research to life’ which was developed at Robert Gordon University by James Cunningham, Erica Cargill, Lisa Collie and Simon Fraser.


A programme entitled ‘Business analytics, consultancy and management: I do and I understand.’, which was developed at Heriot Watt University by Julian Randall, Christine Rutherford, Umit Bititci, and Tom Pfefferkorn.


A programme entitled Management Education in Business Schools: A Teaching-Led Research Initiative (2010-2020)’, which was developed at Alliance Manchester Business School by Mark Winter.


The programme entitled ‘‘Utilisation of Insights Discovery to support applied consultancy projects’ programme developed by Claire Holland at Sheffield Hallam University.



The British Academy of Management created Medals to recognise outstanding and important achievement and service to our community by its members and also  important external contributions.


(Professor Yehuda Baruch)

The senior Cooper Medal for Outstanding Leadership and Contribution is awarded to Professor Yehuda Baruch of the University of Southampton for his world-leading research, his developmental work with on BAM Council and the Doctoral Symposium, his work with sister organisations including EURAM and AOM, and his consistent willingness to contribute to BAM at all levels.


(Professor Rick Delbridge)

The BAM Medal for Leadership is awarded to Professor Rick Delbridge of Cardiff University for his outstanding research achievements, his work on our Development Programme for Directors of Research and other wide achievements, especially connecting the BAM community with the wider social science and UKRI community.


The BAM Medal for Research is awarded to two recipients this year.

(Professor Caroline Gatrell)

Professor Caroline Gatrell of the University of Liverpool Management School and former Co Editor in Chief of IJMR, for her leading work in her field and reaching beyond it.

(Professor Luis Araujo)

Professor Luis Araujo of the Alliance Manchester Business School for his pioneering work establishing and growing a new field and his work on developing early career researchers. 

(Dr Wilson Wong)

The BAM President’s Medal for Management Practice is awarded to Dr Wilson Wong of the Chartered Institute for Personnel and Development in recognition of his senior level international work and support for BAM.


The Richard Whipp Lifetime Achievement Award was created in memory of Professor Richard Whipp to acknowledge his considerable contribution in developing the Academy. It is designed to reward the course of a career within the Business and Management field.

In 2020 we are delighted to recognise the work of BAM Fellow Professor Ken Starkey of the Nottingham University Business School, who has been an outstanding scholar and researcher of his generation and a great contributor to BAM.

Ken’s work has been extremely influential in developing the understanding and importance of the nature of business and management research, the role of business schools in society, and his epansive body of substantive work spanning organizational learning, business ethics, and leadership. His service to BAM is exemplary, having served most recently as Dean of the College of Fellows. He is known both for challenging assumptions and for helping to find solutions, and is a genuine pillar of our community. 

You can watch the full virtual Awards Ceremony via the video below (from 20:33 minutes)